Musings about the high, the low and the off-key notes of a family of seven may not hold the interest of many, but it does provide this mother with an ongoing journal of the small and big events from our lives and the “music” we make as a family.

As a stay-at-home mom for nearly 15 years, I’ve seen it all.  Remembering it all is another story.

Because when I’m old I want to know that this time was about more than the chauffering, cooking, cleaning, homework help and referee madness.  I want to remember that the hug and word of encouragement on the stairway mattered to the teenage girl with “stuff” on her mind.  I want to capture the feel of tiny hands on my face while staring into the big brown eyes of our littlest girl as she sings me a made-up song about Jesus.

The ball games and family vacations are sure things — they’ll snag permanent spots in my memory for a long time to come.  But oh, these whispers from God captured in such fleeting family moments are the things I strain to hold onto.

The journey is already prepared by a sovereign God who loved me enough to send His only son to die on my behalf.  I didn’t earn it, but He did it for me anyway.  And every day I think on this — sometimes at the kitchen sink, sometimes standing by a child’s bedside, or even as I wait in the car for a practice to end.

Before you get sucked in (dare I hope?), I must confess that the original title of this blog went something like, “Type ‘A’ Dreams in a Type ‘Zzzzz’ Body.”   Big ideas and depleted mental and physical energy produces, well…just ideas.  Writing and marketing are my background and DIY projects are my hobby.  The hubby and kids claim center stage in the day-to-day busyness, and with five kids, it’s all I can do to keep up with my family and my home.  “Big things” in the form of essays may occasionally spring up on this site, hopefully offering some humorous respite for you while feeding my ongoing cravings to write.

In the meantime, I’ll stay busy.  As you can see from the picture in the header above, dusting, vacuuming and polishing consume large chunks of my time.  (kidding…picture came with site…I’ll update it later.)

Looking forward to our time together…

Christi

